Copy of Anita Alvarez

Anita Alvarez

Sport: Synchronized Swimming | USA

Home: Lafayette/California

Olympics: 2016 Rio

Favorite Athletic Achievement: Being selected as one of only two Synchronized Swimmers to compete for the USA in the 2016 Olympics at age 19. Finally reaching a level of confidence in myself to compete my first solo at the 2019 Fina World Championships and qualifying for finals in that event.

Personal Achievement: Moving away from home at age 16 to chase my dreams, making it happen and now setting new/bigger goals for myself to work towards! Being able to stay motivated over the years and creating my own path to continue training full time while finishing school, working and living on my own.

Why I am Inspired to be a RISE Mentor: My hope as a current athlete is to be able to take the things I have learned from my mentors/supporters over the years and be able to pay it forward to that next generation of athletes and continue to use my experiences to help others grow and get through similar experiences of their own.

What would I tell my 13-year-old self: Create your own path. Don't be afraid to be "different." You have unique goals and opportunities in front of you, so don't be afraid to take them and run... even if it's in a different direction than the rest of your peers.

Find yourself outside of sport before it's that time for you to be 'out of your sport.' It's easy to get caught up in your world as an athlete and get lost in who you are as a person outside of sport. While you're still competing, take time for yourself; to learn more about your likes/interests outside of your sport and to really know who you are so that when the time comes to be done competing at that have a sense of who you are/who you want to be besides "USA Olympian, Anita Alvarez" ;)

Favorite way to focus: Putting my headphones in and listening to music, keeping the mood light with some humor to stop myself from overthinking and getting too "serious"

Best way to rest/recover: Spend time with friends and family, sleep/nap

Fun Fact: I have done a little (or a lot) of all the aquatic sports except diving. (swimming, synchro, water polo, and open water swimming)

What I do now: Still currently competing and training on the road to qualify for Tokyo 2020!

My Favorite Mentoring Moment: Seeing the look on young athletes faces when they realize they can do much more then they believed they could! Being able to teach athletes things I have learned over the years and seeing them apply it directly in their sport/outside of their sport at an age younger than when I was taught and knowing they are already steps ahead of the athlete I was able to be at their age.